Carl Barât – Carl Barât

Carl has been many things in his time: a Libertine, a Dirty Pretty Thing, a Chav, but this solo venture surpasses many of his previous efforts. Exuding glamour and drama from the off, this solo album covers many of the typical Barât lyrical themes, but this time with his aged experience rather than boyish fantasy.

Album opener ‘The Magus’ lets us know exactly what we’re in for, sweeping melodies and lyrical assaults, exactly what Barât does best.  Lead single ‘Run With The Boys’ provides the expected indie chart hit of late, but it’s the more experimental elements of the album that appeal most. ‘The Fall’ has all the classic elements of a good pop song, right down to the eerily fitting music box tones.

Overall the album shows great progression from Barât, a valiant attempt to step out of the shadows of his former bands (and band mates). His eponymous debut solo album is full of tunes to appeal to fans of all previous incarnations and with promise of more to come, and an upcoming solo tour, the future looks bright for Carl Barât.

‘Carl Barât’ is out October 4th on Arcady records, and ‘Run with the boys’ is out now, You can see the video below and check out the tour dates for his up & coming tour.

15 October BRIGHTON, Coalition
16 October CAMBRIDGE, The Haymakers
17 October STOKE ON TRENT, The Sugarmill
18 October NOTTINGHAM, Rescue Rooms
20 October NEWCASTLE, Digital
21 October GLASGOW, Oran Mor
22 October LEEDS, The Cockpit
23 October MANCHESTER, Deaf Institute
25 October WOLVERHAMPTON, Slade Room
26 October BRISTOL, Thekla
27 October LONDON, Scala
29 October AMSTERDAM, Melkweg
30 October BRUSSELS, Botanique
31 October COLOGNE, Gebaude 9
1 November HAMBURG, Ubel and Gefahrlich
2 November BERLIN, Magnet