Auditory Pleaures #25


Hey all, welcome back to another rundown of some of the best tracks to hit our eardrums this week.

Well, after what seems like forever Klaxons are finally back, and back with a bang. Flashover has that distinct Klaxons sound but has tightened up it’s game and feels much darker than I though it might after all the trouble with their record label. The lyrics “Here comes the flashover” will no doubt be stuck in your head, as they have been mine, for a while to come yet.


Jonathan Low is brand new material from Vampire Weekend which will feature on the latest in the series of Twilight soundtracks, Twilight: Eclipse. Some great arrangement from Rostam Batmanglij and the as always pitch perfect vocals of Ezra Koenig make for a great combination which will no doubt keep up the high standard of music seen on the Twilight soundtracks.

Vampire WeekendJonathan Low

This mashup of La Roux’s Growing Pains and Drake’s Houstatlantavegas is part of the Major Lazer/La Roux mixtape Lazerproof. The mixtape was released this week for free over at Mad Decent and features La Roux mixed alongside the likes of Gucci Mane, Rusko and Amanda Black. I was sceptical as to whether this would actually work or not but after a couple of listens I was already well and truly sold. You can download the mixtape from the link below.

Major Lazer & La RouxHoustatlantavegas Pains ft. Drake

Last but not least in a week filled with some amazing new music comes highly anticipated new material from Arcade Fire. So far I’m leaning towards The Suburbs over Month Of May as my preferred track; the general consensus, however, seems to be that people are appreciating both tracks for their own unique sounds. The band’s new album, also titled The Suburbs, is set for release August 2nd.

Arcade FireThe Suburbs/Month Of May