Auditory Pleasures // #7

There’s always one thing which is a constant in my life and that’s music. No matter what I’m doing I’m always looking out for new music, listening to old classics or just playing something in the background. This week I’ve been beyond busy with university work but have still found the time to check out some great new tracks.


I’d be lying if I said I’d heard any of Gil Scott-Heron’s previous material. The American poet, musician and author’s last album release was some 15 years ago when I was living my care free days probably tripping girls up and riding my new bike everywhere. Me And The Devil is an atmospheric, dark and psychological track which conveys emotion and passion through Scott-Heron’s voice. The comeback album I’m New Here is released February 8th. The xx are also showing their love by currently remixing the entire album, expect to hear that soon too!

Gil Scott-HeronMe And The Devil


Hot Chip are featured for the second week in a row, this time thanks to Ed Droste and co. who’ve covered the bands old classic Boy From School impeccably. Rather than adding to the original, this cover strips Boy From School back to the bare minimum with an acoustic guitar and Droste’s ever-perfect vocals.

Grizzly BearBoy From School (Hot Chip Cover)


Gorillaz are back with their usual mix of eclectic beats and odd styles. Stylo is a grower, upon first listen I was sceptical, but it’s one of those tracks which gets lodged in your subconsciousness, pretty much like most Gorillaz tracks. Stylo is taken from the band’s third album Plastic Beach which is set for release March 8th.

Gorillaz feat. Bobby Womack & Mos Def – Stylo


The recipe for a perfect dance/pop/indie track goes something like this. Mix one part catchy pop hooks courtesy of Miike Snow with one equal part dance remix courtesy of Crookers, add production, a great video and you’ll end up with Remedy. The track will be featured on Crookers’ upcoming album Tons Of Friends which, unsurprisingly, features tonnes of guests, including Kid Cudi, Will I Am, Spank Rock, Roisin Murphy, The Very Best and more.

CrookersRemedy (Feat. Miike Snow)